Carlisle St Mary, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Carlisle St Mary, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Carlisle St Mary, Cumberland|
|Hundred||Carlisle City; Cumberland; Leath|
|Poor Law Union||Carlisle|
|Registration District||Carlisle; Penrith|
|Parish registers: 1648|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1670|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CARLISLE is comprised within the two parishes of St. Mary and St. Cuthbert. There are two district churches, namely, Holy Trinity, in the parish of St. Mary, and Christ Church, in that of St. Cuthbert. There are meeting-houses for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Presbyterians and Roman Catholics.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Carlisle St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Carlisle St Mary Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||1648-1938||1648-1938||1648-1938|
|FS Catalog BTs||1670-1856||1670-1856||1670-1856|
Carlisle St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Carlisle St James Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog BTs||1863-1876||1863-1876||1863-1876|
Carlisle St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Carlisle St Paul Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||1870-1960||1870-1960||1870-1960|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Carlisle, but the exact parish has not been identified: see Carlisle page for details of records at the FHL<br>
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Roman Catholics
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Carlisle on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 23 July 2013.