Carolina, Puerto Rico Genealogy
|Puerto Rico Wiki Topics|
|Puerto Rico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Municipality of Carolina family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
The town of Carolina was in 1816 was a small pueblo, named Trujillo Bajo. In 1857 the barrios (wards) north of the Loíza were separated under a new name, San Fernando de la Carolina, after Charles II of Spain. Under the new name, the town eventually absorbed the remainder of Trujillo Bajo. It is a few miles east of the capital city of San Juan.
Currently, manufacturing plants produce pharmaceuticals, medical equipment, and chemicals. There is a history of sugarcane processing during the 1800s.
As of 2010, the population of Carolina was 176,762. 
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, Carolina
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969, Carolina, browse images
- Puerto Rico, Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969, Trujillo Bajo, browse images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Carolina, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carolina,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/12/20.