Carrington, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Carrington, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Carrington St John the Evangelist Nottingham
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1843|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CARRINGTON, a village, in the parish and union of Basford, hundred of Broxtow, county of Nottingham, 2¼ miles (N. W. by N.) from Nottingham. A church dedicated to St. John was consecrated in 1841.
Carrington St John the Evangelist, Mansfield Road, was created as an Ecclesiastical parish in Nottingham in 1843 from Basford, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Ancient Parish.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project history of the church history
The church has been designated as a Grade II listed building.Carrington St John
See also Carrington Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Church records[edit | edit source]
Carrington, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Carrington, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Carrington
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.