Castle Camps, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Castle Camps, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Castle Camps, Cambridgeshire|
|County||Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Linton|
|Parish registers: 1563|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CASTLE-CAMPS (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Linton, hundred of Chilford, county of Cambridge, 5¾ miles SE by E from Linton. The parish is situated near the road from Cambridge to Colchester. There is a place of worship for Baptists.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Castle Camps parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Castle Camps Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Castle Camps on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 526-531. Date accessed and adapted: 01 July 2013.
- 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.