Castle Rising, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Castle Rising, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Castle Rising, Norfolk|
|County||Norfolk, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Freebridge Lynn|
|Registration District||Freebridge Lynn|
|Parish registers: 1573|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1736|
|Probate Court||Pre-1847 - Court of the Peculiar of Castle Rising; Post-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CASTLE-RISING (St. Lawrence), a parish, and formerly a borough and market-town, in the union and hundred of Freebridge-Lynn, W. division of Norfolk. 
Castle Rising St Lawrence is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.
The Church is Norman but has been heavily restored in subsequent centuries built in the 1150s by William d'Albini, at the same time as his castle.
The restorations by Anthony Salvin in the 1840s, and George Street in the 1850s, were unlike other restorations in the Sandringham area not funded by the Prince of Wales and preceded his purchase of Sandringham House.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Freebridge Lynn 1837-1938
- King's Lynn 1939-1974
Church records[edit | edit source]
Castle Rising, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Castle Rising, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 343/1-6
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
|Baptisms and burials 1736-1818 Marriages 1736-1817
||FHL BRITISH Film |
1526742 Item 9
Non-Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1613-1901 England, Norfolk Non-conformist Records, 1613-1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/CastleRising.htm transcript of 1891 census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Freebridge Lynn http://www.workhouses.org.uk/FreebridgeLynn/
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Norfolk: Castle Rising on GenUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 526-531. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.