Cataño, Puerto Rico Genealogy
|Puerto Rico Wiki Topics|
|Puerto Rico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Municipality of Cataño family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Catano was named after the first doctor in Puerto Rico during the years of early colonization (1564-1568). Catano is the smallest municipality in Puerto Rico. It was founded in 1927.
The area's economy is fueled by rum distilleries, transport, and logistics.
In 2010, the population was 28,140. 
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, Cataño
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969, Cataño, browse images
- Puerto Rico, Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969, Bayamón, browse images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Cataño, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cata%C3%B1o,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/15/20.