Cayey, Puerto Rico Genealogy
|Puerto Rico Wiki Topics|
|Puerto Rico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Municipality of Cayey family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
The original inhabitants of this area (Taino) named this place Cayey or "A place of waters). Juan Vazquez founded the town in 1773. Many immigrants came from France and Spain.
Cayey is mostly agricultural in its economy (sugar, tobacco, and poultry). Starting in the 1950s-1960s, factories became a prevalent arena for the town. Most of these factories employed women which left the men without jobs. Many of the men migrated to the United States or joined the military. The Henry Barracks Military Reservation was installed in 1901. The base was destroyed in 1928 and the U.S. Army moved the base into another area of Puerto Rico. Hurricane Maria in 2017 also caused much damage to the area. But the area has several university satellites and has become a premium area for the affluent in Puerto Rico. 
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, Cayey
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969, Cayey, browse images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Cayey, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cayey,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/15/20.