Ceiba, Puerto Rico Genealogy
|Puerto Rico Wiki Topics|
|Puerto Rico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Municipality of Ceiba family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
The municipality was officially founded on May 12, 1838. The town was based on the donation of land in 1836 by two landowners, Juan R. Dávila and Juan Velázquez, for the purpose of building a town.
Ceiba derives its name from the Indian word Seyba, which is the name for a famous tree that grows on the island.
In 1856, the island was affected by a terrible cholera epidemic, and Ceiba was no exception.
Until 2004, Ceiba was home to the Roosevelt Roads Naval Station. Today, the former military base is being used for housing.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, Ceiba, browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Ceiba, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ceiba%2C_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/22/2020.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Ceiba," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://welcome.topuertorico.org/city/ceiba.shtml, accessed 12/22/2020.