Chardstock, Dorset Genealogy
Guide to Chardstock, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Beaminster- Forum and Redhone|
|Poor Law Union||Axminster|
|Parish registers: 1597|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1579|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Chardstock|
|Location of Archive|
|Dorset Record Office|
Part of this parish is in Devon. See also Chardstock All Saints.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CHARDSTOCK, a village, a parish, and a subdistrict in the district of Axminster, and county of Dorset. The village stands on the River Kitbridge, near the Yeovil and Exeter railway, between the Chard-Road and Axminster stations, 3½ miles SSW of Chard..
Chardstock is an ancient parish. In 1841 part of parish was divided off and joined with part of Axminster, an ancient parish in Cornwall, to form the Chardstock All Saints parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Genuki Cemeteries, Church Records, Description, Genealogy, History, Land and Property, Names
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 04 July 2013.
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.