Chardstock All Saints, Dorset Genealogy
Guide to Chardstock All Saints, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Part of this parish is in Devon. See also Chardstock All Saints, Devon.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Chardstock All Saints was originally created as a chapel of ease for St Andrews, the ancient parish. It was created from Chardstock St Andrews, ancient parish in Dorset and from Axminster ancient parish in Devonshire. Most of the parish is in Dorset.
A district called All Saints was formed in 1841, and attached to a chapel at the southern extremity of the parish; it comprises a population of about 400 persons, half of whom reside in this parish, and half in that of Axminster. The chapel was consecrated April 23rd, 1840. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Chardstock All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Chardstock All Saints Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 08 February 2013.