Chatteris, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Chatteris, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||North Witchford|
|Registration District||North Witchford|
|Parish registers: 1614|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CHATTERIS (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union and hundred of North Witchford, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 8¾ miles E by N from Ramsey. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists and Wesleyans.
Chatteris, is a small town, a parish, and a sub-district, in the district of North Witchford, Cambridge. The town is on the west border of the isle of Ely, near the Cambridge and Wisbech railway, it is 10½ miles NNE of St. Ives; and has a station on the railway, a post office under March. There are seven chapels for Independents, Baptists, Methodists. and Quakers.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Chatteris parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Chatteris Online Parish Records|
Chatteris Church records at FHL
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Countess of Huntingdon Methodist
- General Baptist
- Particular Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Society of Friends (Quaker)
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Chatteris on GENUKI