Chester County, Tennessee Genealogy
Guide to Chester County, Tennessee ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Chester County, Tennessee|
Location in the state of Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
|Founded:||November 6, 1801|
- 1 Description
- 2 Chester County, Tennessee Record Dates
- 3 Chester County Tennessee Courthouse
- 4 Chester County Tennessee History
- 5 Chester County Tennessee Places / Localities
- 6 Chester County Tennessee Genealogy Resources
- 6.1 Getting Started
- 6.2 Research Guides
- 6.3 African American
- 6.4 Cemeteries
- 6.5 Census
- 6.6 Church
- 6.7 Court
- 6.8 Family Histories
- 6.9 Land
- 6.10 Local Histories
- 6.11 Maps
- 6.12 Military
- 6.13 Newspapers
- 6.14 Periodicals
- 6.15 Probate Records
- 6.16 Taxation
- 6.17 Vital Records
- 7 Chester County Tennessee Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 8 Chester County Tennessee Genealogy Websites
- 9 Chester County Tennessee Genealogy References
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Colonel Robert I. Chester, a quartermaster in the War of 1812, an early postmaster in Jackson, and a federal marshal. The County is located in the southwest area of the state. 
Chester County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Chester County Tennessee Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Chester County Courthouse
126 Crook Avenue
Henderson, TN 38340
County Clerk has marriage, probate records from 1890.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records. 
Chester County Courthouse, Henderson, Tenn.Chester County Courthouse
P.O. Box 205
133 East Main St.
Henderson, TN 38340
- County Clerk has marriage and probate records
- Register of Deeds has land records
- Clerk of Circuit Court has court records
Mon.-Tues.and Thurs.-Fri.8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Wed.and Sat.8 a.m.-noon
Chester County Tennessee History[edit | edit source]
The county is named after "Tennessee state legislator Robert I. Chester."
Parent County[edit | edit source]
County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1910 Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill. Online at: Family History Circle.
- When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle. Online at: Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
Chester County Tennessee Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Chester County Tennessee Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Chester County biography records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Chester County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
African American[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 Chester County federal population schedules are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1880 - See parent counties
- 1810 - 1891 Tennessee, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1810-1891 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1890 - substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 7 1891. Johnson County is included in Vol. 7.
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
1891 Male Voters
Church[edit | edit source]
Court[edit | edit source]
Family Histories[edit | edit source]
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" (Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)
- Chester County, Tennessee, 1882-1995, History and Families. Paducah, Ky.: Turner Pub. Co., 1995. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8265 H2c. Publisher's description.
- Baird - See McConnell.
- Barber - See McConnell.
- Martin - See McConnell.
- McCall - See McConnell.
- McConnell - McConnell, Newton Whitfield. Genealogical History of the Families of McConnells, Martins, Barbers, Wilsons, Bairds, McCalls and Morris. Unknown: Unknown, 1913. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 1031512 Item 8; digital version available at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- Morris - See McConnell.
- Wilson - See McConnell.
Land[edit | edit source]
Chester County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1891 and is located at Courthouse, P.O. Box 205, Henderson, TN 38340-0205; Telephone: (901) 989-2233. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
The Family history Library has Chester County deeds 1891-1899.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
There were no War of 1812 pensioners or widows of pensioners living in Chester County on 2 January 1883.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1891 - 1965 - Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch — images
- Civil War Research Database ($)
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
Regiments. Civil War service men from Chester County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Chester County.
- 13th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company I.
- 21st Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Wilson's) - CSA - Companies C, D, F, and 2nd H.
- 51st Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies F and H.
- 55th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Brown's) - CSA - Company E.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Chester County:
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: Chester County. Index includes soldier's name, county, Pension #, Unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Chester County, page 325.
- Genealogy Trails, The Blue & Gray of Chester County Tennessee. Chester County was not formed until after the Civil War was over. The men who fought in the war were from surrounding counties. These are the men and/or their wives who filed for pensions.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Chester County click on the following city:
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Chester County, Tennessee Genealogy records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- Family Findings
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Chester County, Tennessee records have been published in Family Findings, the quarterly of the Mid-West Tennessee Genealogical Society (42+ vols.). The Family History Library has most issues of this quarterly FHL US/CAN 976.8 B2f.
- Many articles from this publication have been reproduced on the TNGenWeb Project website, try this specialized Google search.
- West Tennessee Historical Society Papers
- Family History Library has Volumes 1 - 16 and 30 FHL US/CAN Book 976.81 B5w. The West Tennessee Historical Society Papers are indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
To view Table of Contents and complete articles from 1947 - 2005 see Shelby County Register of Deeds
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The County Court has responsibility for Chester County probate records.
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Wills, 1891-1931 ("Vol. 2")
- Insolvent estate records, 1891-1938 ("Vol. 2")
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1828 - 1939 - Tennessee Births and Christenings 1828-1939 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1869 - 1909 - Tennessee Delayed Birth Records 1869-1909 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1908 - 1912 - Tennessee, Birth Records (ER Series), 1908-1912 at FamilySearch — index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Marriages were not officially recorded in Chester County until 1838, when a law was passed mandating the practice. The following publication, based on early newspapers, helps to alleviate this genealogical obstacle:
- 1625-1966 - Tennessee, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1794 - 1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2L.
The following Chester County Courthouse marriage records have been indexed:
- 1891 - 1895 - Chester County Marriage Index 1891-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M710201.
- 1891 - 1959 - Chester County (Tennessee) County Court Clerk Marriages (Chester County, Tennessee) 1891-1959 Nashville, Tennessee : Filmed by the Tennessee State Library and Archives, 197-?-1988. FHL US/CAN Film 979716 and 1928630-31
- 1780 - 2002 - Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002 ($). Be aware that this index is not complete for all counties.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Chester County divorce papers in diverse manuscript collections, see:
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death[edit | edit source]
For deaths of Methodists in Chester County (or what later became Chester County) between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.
Chester County Tennessee Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
|Chester County Historical Society|
P.O. Box 721
Henderson, TN 38340
|Chester County Library
1012 E Main St
Henderson, TN 38340
Hours: Mon.-Wed., Fri 9:30 a.m.- 5 p.m.
Thurs. 12-7 p.m., Sat. 9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
|The Chester County Library contains a Genealogy Room.|
|West Tennessee Heritage Study Center
Paul Meek Library
University of Tennessee at Martin
Hours vary by semester
|The Heritage Study Center holds a variety of genealogical resources including materials relating to the following counties in Tennessee: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Stewart, Tipton, Wayne, Weakley and Carlisle, Fulton, and Hickman counties in Kentucky.|
|West Tennessee Historical Society
P.O. Box 111046
Memphis, TN 38111
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Chester County Tennessee Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Chester County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Chester County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Chester County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- FamilySearch Catalog (FamilySearch) — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Mailing List: SW-TN-L (Southwest Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: TNCHESTE-L (Chester County, Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: WEST-TNCHAT-L (West Tennessee Chat List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: WESTTN-L (West Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Tennessee's Yesterday
- Chester County Tennessee, Genealogy, History and Information (RootsWeb)
Chester County Tennessee Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Chester, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chester_County,_Tennessee accessed 17 Dec 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chester County, Tennessee. Page 638-645 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 637-640.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chester County, Tennessee page 638, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 638. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
- Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 13 March 2016).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Chester County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chester_County,_Tennessee, accessed 10 November 2019.
- Hermione D. Embry, "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr. 1960):40-45. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. (For discussion of Chester County, see page 40.)
- Gale Williams Bamman, C.G., "Research in Tennessee," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 2 (June 1993):105. FHL US/CAN Book 973 B2ng v. 81 (1993)
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.