Chew Magna, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Chew Magna, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chew Magna, Somerset
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chew
County Somerset, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Clutton
Registration District Clutton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chew
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Archives and Local Studies

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CHEW MAGNA (St. Andrew), a parish, and anciently a borough and market-town, in the union of Clutton, hundred of Chew, E. division of Somerset, 6½ miles (S.) from Bristol; containing the tythings of Bishop-Sutton, Knowle with Knighton-Sutton, North Elm, and Stone. At the north-eastern extremity of the parish is a ville, called Norton Hautville or Hawkfield. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, and Wesleyans.[1]


Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Chew Magna Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Somerset
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Somerset ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past Banns-Somerset ($)
-
-
1600s-1900s
-
-
-
Ancestry-Somerset (Early) ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry-Somerset (Late) ($)
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1900s

Other Online Records These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.TMSociety.org - Official website of the Thomas Minor Society which was founded in Chew Magna in 1981 and contains information about St. Andrews parish.

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/ChewMagna/index.html

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 15 September 2013.