To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Chichester Cathedral, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Chichester Cathedral is the seat of the Diocese of Chichester. It is located in the county of Sussex.

Guide to Chichester Cathedral, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chichester Cathedral, Sussex
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chichester Borough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Not Applicable
Registration District Chichester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1664; For records see also Chichester St Peter the Great
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Chichester Cathedral parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Sussex, Parish Registers, 1538-1910 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Sussex Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Sussex Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[1]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Chichester Cathedral Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP



1556-1893
TGEN 1538-1920s
1538-1920s
1538-1920s
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Sussex Record Office and The Keep (which houses the collections of the East Sussex Record Office).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Poor Law Union[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Maps & Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch