To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Chiddingstone, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Chiddingstone

Guide to Chiddingstone, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Chiddingstone, Kent
Chiddingstone St Mary Kent.jpg
Chiddingstone St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Somerden
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CHIDDINGSTONE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Seven-Oaks, hundred of Somerden, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W division of Kent, 8 miles SSW from Seven-Oaks. [1]

Chiddingstone is a village and civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent. The civil parish includes Chiddingstone Causeway Chiddingstone Wikipedia

Chiddingstone St Mary is an Ancient Parish which included Chiddingstone Hoath and Little Chiddingstone in the parish boundary. A map of the parish boundary showing both churches is available at A church near you

The Church of St Mary High Street Chiddingstone has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 210-227 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The church of St Luke Chiddingstone Causeway which dates from 1898 has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941

Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Chiddingstone parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Chiddingstone Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1863


FS PRs 1813-1873 1755-1911; 1755-1900 (banns) 1813-1881
IGI 1813-1836

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Chiddingstone 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Chiddingston on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 593-597. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.