Chilcote, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Chilcote, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Chilcote St Matthew Leicestershire
|Hundred||Repton and Gresley|
|County||Derbyshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Tamworth|
|Parish registers: 1595; For more records see Clifton Campville (Staffordshire)|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CHILCOTE, a chapelry, in the parish of Clifton Campville, union of Tamworth, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 6½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Ashby-de-la-Zouch. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Chilcote St Matthew chapel of ease to Clifton Campville, Staffordshire Genealogy
Chilcote parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers - How to Use this Collection|
|CHILCOTE PARISH Online Records|
|FS PR's||1660-1786, 1805-1809, 1813-1856|| NONE
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1595-2006 Mar 1595-1734 Bur 1595-1734
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1813-1860 Mar None Bur None Missing Bap 1853-1854, 1856
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformists Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Chilcote on GENUKI