Chislehurst, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Chislehurst, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Chislehurst St Nicholas Kent
|Poor Law Union||Bromley|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1718|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CHISLEHURST, a village, a parish, and a sub-district in Bromley district, Kent. 
Chislehurst was a village and civil parish until 1934 and is now part of the London Borough of Bromley Chislehurst Wikipedia
Chislehurst St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester.
The church dates from the 15th century with 19th century enlargement and restoration with the addition of stained glass windows. The Tower and spire were restored after fire destruction in 1857 and the clock and eight bells date from this time.
The lych gate was built in 1866, and moved to its present position in 1892, when the churchyard was enlarged after two old cottages had been pulled down. Near the lych gate are the graves of Ann and Thomson Bonar, murdered by a servant at Camden Place in 1813, of William Willett, originator of Summer Time, and of Sir Malcolm Campbell, holder of land and water speed records.
The first recorded burials in the register date from 1558 the oldest surviving gravestones are 19th century.
From the Ancient parish were formed:
St John the Baptist: Mission church, Mill Place. Built 1886, closed 1939
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Chislehurst parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Chislehurst Online Parish Records|
|FS PRs||1558-1890||1558-1881; 1754-1812 (banns)||1558-1881|
Deposited Parish registers are held at Bromley Archives reference P 92
Bromley Central Library
Telephone: 020 8461 7170
Fax: 020 8466 7860
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
- Images for Chislehurst are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1831
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
- Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
- Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within the London Borough of Bromley, located adjacent to Orpington Station and on major bus routes through the borough.
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these collections using the portal.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
- 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.