Chitimacha Nation
United States 
Indigenous Peoples of the US Louisiana, United States Genealogy Indigenous Peoples of Louisiana Chitimacha Nation
Guide to Chitimacha Nation ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.
The Chitimacha Tribe is primarily associated with the state of Louisiana[1].
Contents
Tribal Headquarters[edit | edit source]
Chitimacha Tribe of Louisiana
P.O. Box 661
155 Chitimacha Loop
Charenton, LA 70523
Phone: 1.337.923.4973
Fax: 1.337.923.6848
E-mail: info@chitimacha.gov
- Sovereign Nation of the Chitimacha Official Website
History[edit | edit source]
Brief Timeline[edit | edit source]
1699: French encounter the tribe, The French allies of Acolapissa and Natchitoches tribes made slave raids and took military actions against the Chitimacha.
1718: French made peace with the tribe.
1762: French turned "Louisiana" over to Spain. Many Acadian intermarried with the Chitimacha.
1919: Federal recognition
Additional References to the History of the Tribe[edit | edit source]
Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Chitimacha tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods. Additional details are given in John Swanton's The Indian Tribes of North America.
Reservations[edit | edit source]
Records[edit | edit source]
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Correspondence
- Health records
- Reports
- School census and records
- [[American Indian Vital Records Supplements in Census Rolls|Vital records]
Important Websites[edit | edit source]
- Constitution and By-laws of the Chitimacha Tribe of Louisiana
- Sovereign Nation of the Chitimacha Official Website
- Chitimacha Tribe Wikipedia
For Further Reading[edit | edit source]
For background information to help find Native American ancestors see For Further Reading.
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible To Receive Services From the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 134, 12 July 2002 Available online
