Chorlton upon Medlock St Saviour, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Chorlton upon Medlock St Saviour, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Chorlton upon Medlock St Saviour, Lancashire|
|Poor Law Union||Chorlton|
|Parish registers: 1836|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK (St Savior) was one of eight chapels of ease serving within that township, including St All Saints (1808, St Ambrose (1884), St Clement's (1793), Luke's (1804) and All Saints (1808), St Matthias (1876), and St Stephens (1854), all within the parish boundaries of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys (the Cathedral), in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster. The name of this place, formerly Chorlton-Row, was changed, on an act of parliament being obtained for the township, to Chorlton-upon-Medlock, as a better than its ancient designation, the river Medlock (which separates it from the township of Manchester) forming its entire boundary on the north. It was created by the year 1836. There are meeting-houses for Evangelical Friends, Presbyterians, General Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Unitarians, and Wesleyans. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Onine transcriptions exist for St Saviour Chorlton upon Medlock as well as for the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George and Denys (the Cathedral)--to which it is attached. The online data includes numerous transcriptions of baptisms, marriages and burials from each of the eight chapelries lying within Chorlton upon Medlock township and all within the boundary of this the largest ancient parish in all of England. Displayed below are the links to the available online data located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|FMP = FMP = findmypast|
|LBMD = Lancashire BMD|
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST SAVIOUR Chapelry (1836) Indexes|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL (the ANCIENT PARISH) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1808) Indexes|
|FS||1808-1910||1837-1930||1820-1881 - part.|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST AMBROSE Chapelry (1884) Indexes|
|CHORTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST CLEMENTS Chapelry (1793) Indexes|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST LUKE Chapelry (1805) Indexes|
|FS||1802-1911 - part.||1859-1930 - part.||1819-1871|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST MATTHIAS Chapelry (1876) Indexes|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST PAUL Chapelry (1862) Indexes|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1854) Indexes|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 607-612. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.