Church Fenton, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Church Fenton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CHURCH-FENTON, or Kirk-Fenton, a township and a parish in Tadcaster district, W. R. Yorkshire. The township lies on the Great Northern railway, near the river Wharfe, 5 miles SSE of Tadcaster [1] It was historically in the West Riding of Yorkshire until 1974, but is now in the county of North Yorkshire. [2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1630.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)Adapted. Date accessed: 4 August 2021.
  2. Wikipedia, Church Fenton Date accessed: 4 August 2021.