Cidra, Puerto Rico Genealogy
|Puerto Rico Wiki Topics|
|Puerto Rico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Municipality of Cidra family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
It is believed that around 1795, a Catalan named Frujols built a hermitage or shrine around which a small village settled. The town was founded in 1809. In 1868, the population of Cidra was more than 5,000 residents, which included European immigrants and slaves.
At the time of its foundation, Cidra had 26 houses and 11 huts. It is believed that its name came from the citron fruit which was widely cultivated in the region. After its foundation, a church and city hall was built. By 1822, there were two public schools in town. In 1868, the population of Cidra was more than 5,000 residents, which included European immigrants and slaves.
Hurricane Maria in 2017 triggered many landslides in Cidra with a significant amount of rainfall. Some areas of Cidra experienced more than 25 landslides per kilometer.
In 2010, the U.S. Census showed that the town of Cidra had 43,480 as it's population. 
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, Cidra, browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Catholic Church Records, Nuestra Señora del Carmen Parish, Cidra, Puerto Rico,1818-1937 browse images.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Cidra, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cidra,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/22/20.