Clapham, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Clapham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Sutton|
|Parish registers: 1685|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1571|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CLAPHAM, a parish, in the union of Sutton, hundred of Brightford, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 5 miles (N. W.) from Worthing. 
Clapham St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient parish in the Arun district of West Sussex.
Church history see Sussex Parish Churches
The parish church of St mary has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall<br>Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122
Church records[edit | edit source]
Clapham, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Clapham, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap1687-1909 Marr 1692-1969 Bur 1685-1998
Bishop's Transcripts 1571-1899
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Clapham
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 616-620. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.