Clark County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Clark County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Clark County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||February 1, 1919|
|Address||Clark County Courthouse|
320 West Main Street
Dubois, ID 83423-0007
Phone: (208) 374-5304
Fax: (208) 374-5609
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Quick Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Cemeteries
- 7 Census
- 8 Church
- 9 County Commissioners' Records
- 10 Court Records
- 11 History
- 12 Land and Property
- 13 Maps
- 14 Military
- 15 Miscellaneous Series
- 16 Naturalization/Citizenship
- 17 Newspapers
- 18 Obituaries
- 19 Probate
- 20 Taxation
- 21 Vital Records
- 22 Societies and Libraries
- 23 Websites
- 24 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Sam K. Clark, state senator & pioneer. The County Seat is Dubois and was founded February 1, 1919. It is located in the east central area of the state.
Clark County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
- Medicine Lodge
- U.S. Sheep Experiment Station
The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Clark County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Clark County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Clark County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Dubois.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|IDGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See Idaho Cemeteries for more information.|
There are many cemeteries in Clark County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Clark County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census[edit | edit source]
The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
- List of Clark County stakes and wards to about 1948.
- In 1930, Clark County was part of Idaho Falls Stake.
- The following are local congregations (wards) which existed in Clark County, Idaho prior to 1950.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the early court records of Clark County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Clark County courthouse in Dubois, Idaho, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Clark County that have been microfilmed include:
- Power of attorney, 1890-1962
Judgment Books[edit | edit source]
- Judgment book, 1893-1965; index, 1919-1986
Also see "Miscellaneous" section below.
History[edit | edit source]
Two published works are Settlers of the Silver Sage by Bonnie Stoddard (Clark County Historical Society) and Settlement of Idaho by Utah Pioneers: Clark, Fremont, and Teton Counties, by Mary N. P. Harris.
The Clark County, Idaho Historical Photographs collection has 5,000 photos online.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Clark County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Dubois, Idaho.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed some early county records of Clark County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed Homesteadrecords (1894-1966) and Land Office Patent Records (1890-1919) of Clark County which can be viewed in the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- A digital Clark County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Clark County, Idaho is available online.
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
Because Clark County was not formed until 1919, those who were of military draft age for World War I were included in the draft registration records of Fremont County, the parent county of Clark.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Idaho, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Series[edit | edit source]
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Clark County. The originals are held in the Clark County courthouse in Dubois, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.
Naturalization/Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Current[edit | edit source]
Historical[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed the following Clark County newspapers:
Clark County Enterprise, 1921: 1921:11:17-1922:10:26
Clark County Enterprise, 1959: 1959:7:24-1970:12:31
Clark County Enterprise, Misc: 1919:5:15, 1922:6:29, 1954:2:26
Clark County Enterprise-Banner: 1924:5:8 -1959:
Dubois Banner: 1917:6:1-1918:6:29
Dubois Enterprise,1914: 1914:8:27-1928:6:29
Dubois Enterprise,1919: 1919:02:20
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
The existing original Clark County probate records should be in the county courthouse in Dubois, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed some of the earlier Clark County probate records which are available for viewing at the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah also has microfilms of some of the early Clark County probate records. The following are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers:
- Idaho Orders and Decrees 1915-1937. FHL Film 1450800 Item 2
- Idaho Probate Registers (1913-1986). FHL Film 1450797 Item 3
- Idaho Wills 1909-1963. FHL Film 1450800 Item 3
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Clark County should be in the courthouse in Dubois and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1911 - Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in the Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 Clark County area are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed marriage records of Clark County from 1919-1982 which can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers. This record is also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting the Archives.
- 1800-1987 - Idaho, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1864-1976 - Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 - Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 - Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 - Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Clark County is included in the online collection of Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1938-1961 - Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Deaths occurring in Clark County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as mandated by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.
Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.
Deaths from other sources[edit | edit source]
A significant source of death and related information for eastern Idaho families can be found at the following website Eastern Idaho Death Index.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Clark County Public Library
21 East Main St
Dubois, ID 83423
Phone: (208) 374-5267
- Heritage Hall Museum
110 South Reynolds Street, Dubois, ID 83423
- Genealogy Trails Clark County
- State Historical Society
2205 Old Penitentiary Rd
- Idaho Historical Society Facebook Page Website
- Idaho State Archives Digital Collections - Enter County in Search Bar
- The Idaho Welsh Society -- excellent cultural and historical site
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Clark County Idaho GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Clark County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
[Idaho,_Clark_County_Records_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records)|Idaho, Clark County Records - FamilySearch Historical Records]]
References[edit | edit source]
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Clark County, Idaho Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ida/clark/
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clark County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clark, Idaho page 178, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Clark County, Idaho," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clark_County,_Idaho#Communities, accessed 4 June 2019.
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03