Clay County, Tennessee Genealogy
Guide to Clay County, Tennessee ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Clay County, Tennessee|
Location in the state of Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
|Founded:||June 24, 1870|
- 1 Description
- 2 Clay County, Tennessee Record Dates
- 3 Clay County Tennessee Courthouse
- 4 Clay County Tennessee History
- 5 Clay County Tennessee Places / Localities
- 6 Clay County Tennessee Genealogy Resources
- 6.1 Research Guides
- 6.2 African American
- 6.3 Cemeteries
- 6.4 Census
- 6.5 Church
- 6.6 Court
- 6.7 DNA
- 6.8 Family Histories
- 6.9 Land
- 6.10 Local Histories
- 6.11 Maps
- 6.12 Military
- 6.13 Newspapers
- 6.14 Occupations
- 6.15 Periodicals
- 6.16 Probate Records
- 6.17 Taxation
- 6.18 Vital Records
- 7 Clay County Tennessee Genealogy Libraries
- 8 Societies and Archives
- 9 Clay County Tennessee Genealogy Websites
- 10 Clay County Tennessee Genealogy References
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for American statesman Henry Clay, member of the United States Senate from Kentucky and United States Secretary of State in the 19th century. The County is located in the north central area of the state. 
Clay County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Clay County Tennessee Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Clay County Courthouse, Celina, Tenn.
Clay County Courthouse
100 Courthouse Square
Celina, TN 38551
County Clerk has marriage records from 1870.
Clerk has probate records from 1870.
County Assorr has land records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1870. 
Clay County Courthouse
139 East Lake Ave.
Celina, TN 38551
Clay County Clerk
P.O. Box 218
139 East Lake Ave., Suite E
Celina, TN 38551
Clay County Clerk and Master
P.O. Box 332
Celina, TN 38551
Clay County Assessor
P.O. Box 430
Celina, TN 38551
Clay County Clerk of Circuit Court
P.O. Box 156
Celina, TN 38551
Mon.-Tues. and Thurs.- Fri.8 a.m.-4 p.m. (Closed Wed.)
Clay County Tennessee History[edit | edit source]
Middle Tennessee county established in 1870. The western part of Clay County's land belonged to the pioneer Cumberland Settlements.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Clay County Tennessee Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Clay County Tennessee Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Clay County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
African American[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.|
- Charles A. Reeves Jr. has created a detailed map showing the locations of Clay County cemeteries. It may be purchased for a small fee through his website.
Census[edit | edit source]
1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Clay County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1810 - 1891
1890 Lost substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 6 1891. Clay County is included in Vol. 6.
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
- 1890 Clay County veterans found on the 1890 Federal Census. Hosted by Rootsweb.
Male Voters 1891
- Young, Denise, ed. Clay County, Tennessee Census, 1920 (database on-line). Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 1999. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Clay County, Tennessee Census, 1920 at Ancestry.com (Free/$)
Church[edit | edit source]
Court[edit | edit source]
DNA[edit | edit source]
- Brown - Descendant of Daniel Brown, b. abt 1852 Kentucky or Alabama, m. Lusana Eudy 1877 Clay County, Tennessee, d. abt 1910 Kentucky. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 77320). Genetic signature available online (labeled Group No. 46), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study. Matches have been found.
Family Histories[edit | edit source]
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" (Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)
- Clay County, Tennessee History and Families. Paducah, Ky.: Turner Publishing Co. Publisher's description.
- Masters, Jack and Bill Puryear. Founding of the Cumberland Settlements: The First Atlas 1779-1804: Showing Who Came, How They Came, and Where They Put Down Roots. Gallatin, Tenn.: Warioto Press, 2009. FHL US/CAN Large Q Book 976.8 E7d. Supplements: FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 E7d supp. 1 ff. Purchase at Cumberland Pioneer Settlers.
- Donaldson - Waters, Elise Donaldson. Genealogy of Donaldsons of Wilson and Clay County, Tennessee; Colsons, Browns, and Hords of Virginia and Tennessee, and Related Families. Nashville, Tenn.: E.D. Waters, 1981. FHL FAM HIST Large Q Book 929.273 D714w.
- Fowler - Waters, Elise Donaldson. Genealogy of Sylvanus Fowler of Newburgh, New York, Jackson and Clay County, Tennessee: and Related Families. Nashville, Tenn.: E.D. Waters, 1979. FHL FAM HIST Large Q Book 929.273 F829d 1979.
- Lincoln - Warren, Louis Austin. Hananiah Lincoln in Revolution and Pioneer History. Bloomington, IN: University Press, 1929. Digital version available at Heritage Quest Online.
Land[edit | edit source]
- Clay County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1871 and is located at Courthouse, POB 430 Celina, Tennessee 38551; 931-243-3298, Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries
- The Family History Library has microfilm copies of deeds1871-1904.
- Free index to 1500+ Pioneer Cumberland Settlements Land Grants, available online, courtesy: Cumberland Pioneer Settlers. The Cumberland Settlements region covered what is now this county. To view the land grants platted on maps, purchase the books described on this site, or access those available at the Family History Library FHL US/CAN Large Q Book 976.8 E7d.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr. 1960):40-45. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. Includes Clay County pensioners (pp. 40-41)
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1891 - 1965 - Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch — images
- Civil War Research Database $
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
Regiments. Civil War service men from Clay County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Clay County.
- 8th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company H.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Clay County:
- USGenWeb Archives, Clay County Tennessee Archives. Civil War Records.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: Clay County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Clay County, page 326.
- 1890 Census for Pickett, Fentress, & Clay Counties. Here is a listing of all Union Civil War veterans and their wives. It lists name, rank, company, town they lived in, any ailments, and county.
Since Clay County was not formed until December 1870, you will need to check the military records of its parent counties, Jackson County and Overton County for military records of the Revolutionary War, the War of 1812, and the Civil War.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Clay County click on the following city:
Occupations[edit | edit source]
- Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes Clay County.
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Clay County, Tennessee Genealogy records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Giles County, Tennessee have been published in The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, the quarterly of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society (23+ Vols.). To view a list of these articles, visit their online Index to Articles (1988-2005). Surname indexes are also available online for Vols. 2-22. The website also offers back issues for sale in paper and on CD. The Family History Library has a complete collection of this quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The Clay County Court has responsibility for probate records.
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Wills, 1871-1913 (Vols. A-B)
- Bonds, 1871-1903 (3 vols.)
- Insolvent estate records, 1875-1931
- Settlements, 1873-1915 (2 vols.)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1789 - Cumberland Settlements, Tax List, 1789, The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Fall 1990). For access, see Periodicals. Includes area that later became Clay County.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
The original Clay County marriage records are kept at the County Courthouse. The following Clay County marriage records are microfilmed:
- 1871 - 1993 - Available at TSLA.
- 1871 - 1957 - Available at the Family History Library. Indexes are at the front of each volume.FHL 1004071
The following Cannon County Courthouse marriage records have been indexed:
- 1871 - 1895 - Clay County Marriage Index 1871-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1871 - 1873 - Marriage Records, 1871-1873, Clay County, Tennessee. Nashville: TSLA, Historical Records Project, 1939. Typescript.FHL 24621 Item 2
- Shrum, Shelta R. Early Clay County, Tennessee, Marriages. Lafayette, Tennessee: Ridge Runner, 2001. FHL 976.849 V2s
- 1790 - 1950 - Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - covers all counties in Tennessee.
- 1780 - 2002 - Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002. ($) Be aware that this index is not complete for all counties.
- Clay County is not included in Marriage Records.  or in Marriage Records: Early–1850. 
Divorce[edit | edit source]
In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Clay County divorce papers in diverse manuscript collections, see:
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death[edit | edit source]
For deaths of Methodists in Clay County (or what later became Clay County) between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. (1847-1914) 10 vols. Jackson, Tenn.: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.
Clay County Tennessee Genealogy Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Clay County Public Library
116 Guffey St., Celina, TN 38551-4088
Hours: Mon.–Tues. 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m., Wed. 3 p.m.–8 p.m., Thurs.–Fri. 8:30 p.m.-4:30 p.m.,
Sat. 9 a.m.–1 p.m., Sun. Closed
The Clay county Library has a genealogical collection including local and family history.
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Societies and Archives[edit | edit source]
Clay County Tennessee Genealogy Societies[edit | edit source]
- Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Clay County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy & History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005
- Upper Cumberland Genealogical Association, Inc.
PO Box 575
Cookeville, TN 38503-0575
The Association includes 14 counties in upper middle Tennessee. It sponsors the Tennessee Room at the Putnam County Library in Cookeville, Tennessee which contains many records of genealogical value.
Clay County Tennessee Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Clay County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Clay County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Clay County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Cumberland Pioneer Settlers Cumberland Compact Signers, Pioneer Land Grant Recipients, Publication Descriptions, Free Book Indexes
- FamilySearch Catalog (FamilySearch) — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Rootwalker: Genealogy Pages for Northern Middle TN Free Genealogy Resources for the Region
- Mailing List: TN-ROOTWALKER-L (North Central Tennessee Genealogy List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: TN-UPPER-CUMBERLAND-L (Upper Cumberland Tennessee Region Genealogy List) (RootsWeb)
Clay County Tennessee Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Clay, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clay_County,_Tennessee accessed 17 Dec 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clay County, Tennessee. Page 638-645 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 637-640.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clay County, Tennessee page 638, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- "Henry Clay," Wikipedia.
- Founding of the Cumberland Settlements: The First Atlas 1779-1804.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 638. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Clay County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clay_County,_Tennessee, accessed 10 November 2019.
- May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.
- Orem, Utah: Automated Archives, 1994. (Family History Library compact disc number 9 part 2.)
- Orem, Utah: Automated Archives, 1992. (Family History Library compact disc number 9 part 229.) These disks do not circulate to Family History Centers.