To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Clayton with Keymer, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Clayton with Keymer, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clayton with Keymer, Sussex
St John the Baptist Clayton West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buttinghill
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Cuckfield
Registration District Cuckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1601; Separate registers exist for Keymer beginning 1601
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606; Separate records exist for Keymer beginning 1626
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CLAYTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 2¼ miles (S. S. E.) from Hurst-Pierrepoint.[1]


Clayton with Keymer St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish in the county of Sussex. Other places in the parish include: St John's Common, Keymer( sometimes Kymere)and Burgess Hill. A history of the church Clayton St John the Baptist

The Parish Church of St john the Baptist Clayton Hassocks has been desingated a grade I listed building British listed building

Clayton Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) Keymer West Sussex Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) for details of Keymer churches and Keymer Wikipedia Keymer St Cosmos and Damian, Sussex

See also

Clayton St John the Baptist Wikipedia Clayton Wikipedia and list of places of worship in Mid Sussex Wikipedia

A history of the County of Sussex

A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 624-626. here

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
01243 642122

Church records[edit | edit source]

Clayton with Keymer, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Clayton with Keymer, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1692-1886
1572-1887 (gaps)

IGI 1692-1887
PRTS 1571-1902
1590-1901
1572-1901

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap1687-1909 Marr 1692-1969 Bur 1685-1998

Bishop's Transcripts 1571-1899

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Clapham


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


[1]

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Cuckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 624-626. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.