To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Cleveland County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

 

Guide to Cleveland County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Rison
Organized: April 17, 1873
Parent County(s): Dallas, Bradley, Jefferson, and Lincoln [1]
Neighboring Counties
Bradley  • Calhoun  • Dallas  • Drew  • Grant  • Jefferson  • Lincoln
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasClevelandCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-cleveland.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for President Grover Cleveland.[2] It is located in the south central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Cleveland County Courthouse
Main and Magnolia Streets; PO Box 348
Rison, AR 71665
Phone: 870.325.6521
Cleveland County website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1880, along with divorce, probate and court records.[4]

Cleveland County, Arkansas[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1880 1914* 1873 1873 1873 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Although specific courthouse disasters are not known, it is reported that the records are incomplete and some are not in good condition. Several tax books, one marriage record, and one or more court records are missing.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Bowman
  • Harper
  • Hudgin
  • Hurricane
  • Kingsland
  • Lee
  • Miller
  • Niven
  • Redland
  • Rison
  • Rowell
  • Saline
  • Smith
  • White Oak
  • Whiteville


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Cleveland County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [8]

  • 1834 - The third Quapaw Treaty ratified by the U.S. Senate was the beginning of the end of the Indians treaty lands in Arkansas.
  • 1864 April 25 - The most important event in what became Cleveland County during the Civil War was the Battle of Marks’ Mills.
  • 1873 April 17 - Cleveland County was established.
  • 1910 - The high point for population of the county.
  • 1970 - The low point for population of the county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Cleveland, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1890 11,362
1900 11,620 2.3%
1910 13,481 16.0%
1920 12,260 −9.1%
1930 12,744 3.9%
1940 12,570 −1.4%
1950 8,956 −28.8%
1960 6,944 −22.5%
1970 6,605 −4.9%
1980 7,868 19.1%
1990 7,781 −1.1%
2000 8,571 10.2%
2010 8,689 1.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

  • Probate Records 1873-1974 Cleveland County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration records 1876-1908; Guardian records 1877-1909; Inventories 1877-1974; Letters of guardianship 1909-1938; Probate records 1873-1893; Wills 1877-1947.

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Grant CountyJefferson CountyDallas CountyCalhoun CountyBradley CountyDrew CountyLincoln CountyAR CLEVELAND.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Cleveland County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cleveland County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[10] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png

See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Cleveland County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/cleve/.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Cleveland County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cleveland_County,_Arkansas.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cleveland County, Arkansas. Page 67 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 65.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Cleveland County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cleveland_County,_Arkansas, accessed 2 September 2018.
  8. Louise Mitchell, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=757&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 12, 2016), “Cleveland County.”
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
  10. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  11. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages - FamilySearch Historical Records," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.