Climping, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Climping, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||East Preston|
|Parish registers: 1678|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1572|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CLIMPING, a parish, in the union of East Preston (under Gilbert's act), hundred of Avisford, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 7 miles (S. S. W.) from Arundel.
Climping St Mary (otherwise spelt Clymping) is an Ancient Parish in the Arun district of West Sussex which includes Cudlow within the parish boundary.
A church history Climping St Mary
The parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 635-639. here
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Climping, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)|
|CLIMPING PARISH Online Records|
Climping St Mary West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1710-1981 Marr 1719-1979 Bur 1678-1974
Bishop's Transcripts 1571-1984
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Clymping
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 635-639. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 28 January 2021.