To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Coal City, Carbon County, Utah Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Coal City, Utah)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Coal City, Carbon County ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Quick History[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Coal City, Utah

Castle Gate is a class 4 mining ghost town, in Carbon County.[1] First settled in 1885 as a agricultural community and known as Oak Springs Bench then later as Cedar Mesa Ranch. Finding the area unsuitable for farming or ranching, coal was discovered and the town became Coal City. [2]

Location[edit | edit source]

  • Coordinates: 39°40′00″N 111°00′59″W

Maps[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Communities[edit | edit source]

Clear Creek | Standardville

Time Line[edit | edit source]

  • 1885: First Settled
  • 1921: Rebirth as Great Western
  • 1925: Town begins to disintegrate
  • 1939-1940: Town was uninhabited

Resources[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Memorial to those who lost their lives in coal mines in Utah in the 19th & 20th centuries [3] Lists name, date of accident, and mine.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Check cemeteries in neighboring communities.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Historical Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Societies, Museums and Libraries[edit | edit source]

The Western Mining and Railroad Museum

294 South Main
Helper, Utah 84526
Phone: (435) 472-3009

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriages[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

  • Utah Department of Archives 1903 to 50 years ago
    Choices of search types - name, date of death (year, month, day, or any combination) and county.
    Images of actual death certificates.
  • Utah Death Certificates 1904 - 1956 -A free internet access to the 1904-1956 death certificates can be viewed on the Family Search Historical Records.  Utah requires a death certificate before a burial is completed.  A death certificate may contain information as to the name of the deceased, date of death, and place of death, as well as the age, birthdate, parents, gender, marital status, spouse and place of residence.  For information on death prior to 1904 you can search the Utah State Burial Index.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Suggested Reading[edit | edit source]

  • Connecting the West : historic railroad stops and stage stations of Elko County, Nevada [4]
  • The Historical Guide to Utah Ghost Towns. [5]
  • Some Dreams Die: Utah's Ghost Towns and Lost Treasures [6]
  • Pioneers of Carbon County [7]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Sources and Footnotes[edit | edit source]

  1. Carr, Stephen L. The Historical Guide to Utah Ghost Towns. Salt Lake City, Utah: Western Epics, 1972. Film: FHL 78162 Book: FHL 979.2 H2cr WorldCat 595478.
  2. Thompson, George A; Some Dreams Die: Utah's Ghost Towns and Lost Treasures WorldCat 9202286 FHL 979.2 H2tg
  3. Civish, Fred M.; Memorial to those who lost their lives in coal mines in Utah in the 19th & 20th centuries Book FHL 979.2 V28
  4. Hall, Shawn; Connecting the West : historic railroad stops and stage stations of Elko County, Nevada WorldCat 50926294
  5. Carr, Stephen L. The Historical Guide to Utah Ghost Towns. Salt Lake City, Utah: Western Epics, 1972. Film: FHL 78162 Book: FHL 979.2 H2cr WorldCat 595478.
  6. Thompson, George A; Some Dreams Die: Utah's Ghost Towns and Lost Treasures WorldCat 9202286 FHL 979.2 H2tg
  7. Jean S Greenwood; Lou Jean S Wiggins; Mary N Porter Harris; Daughters of Utah Pioneers; Pioneers of Carbon County 46707885/editions WorldCat 46707885