Coalbrookdale, Shropshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Coalbrookdale, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Coalbrookdale, Shropshire
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Bradford; Wenlock
County Shropshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Madeley
Registration District Madeley
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wenlock
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office
v • d • e

Parish History[edit | edit source]

COALBROOKDALE, or Colebrookdale, a village and a parochial chapelry in Madeley district, Shropshire. There are also two dissenting chapels[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Coalbrookdale, Shropshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[2][3][4]
Coalbrookdale, Shropshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

 Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. ↑ 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. ↑ 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. ↑ 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
v • d • e
Links to Shropshire, England Genealogy-related articles
Topics
Parishes

Abdon  • Acton Burnell  • Acton Round  • Acton Scott  • Adderley  • Alberbury  • Albrighton (near Shiffnal)  • Albrighton (near Shrewsbury)  • Alveley  • Ash (Little Ash)  • Ashford Bowdler  • Ashford Carbonell  • Astley  • Astley Abbots  • Aston Botterell  • Aston Eyre  • Atcham  • Badger  • Barrow  • Baschurch  • Battlefield  • Bayston Hill  • Beckbury  • Bedstone  • Benthall  • Berrington  • Bettws y Crwyn  • Bewdley  • Bicton  • Billingsley  • Bishop's Castle  • Bitterley  • Bobbington  • Bolas Magna  • Boningale  • Boraston  • Boscobel  • Bourton  • Bridgnorth St Leonard  • Bridgnorth St Mary Magdalen  • Bromfield  • Broseley  • Broughton  • Bucknell  • Buildwas  • Burford  • Burwarton  • Calverhall  • Cardeston  • Cardington  • Caynham  • Chelmarsh  • Cheswardine  • Chetton  • Chetwynd  • Child's Ercall  • Chirbury  • Church Aston  • Church Preen  • Church Pulverbach  • Churchstoke  • Church Stretton with All Stretton and Little Stretton  • Claverley  • Clee  • Clee St. Margaret  • Cleobury Mortimer  • Cleobury North  • Clive  • Clun and Chapel Lawn  • Clunbury  • Clungunford  • Coalbrookdale  • Cockshutt  • Cold Weston  • Condover  • Coreley  • Cound  • Cressage  • Culmington  • Dawley, Great  • Dawley, Little  • Dawley Hamlets  • Dawley Magna  • Dawley Parva  • Diddlebury  • Dinmore  • Ditton Priors  • Dodington  • Donington  • Donington Wood  • Dorrington  • Dowles  • Dudleston  • Easthope  • Eaton Constantine  • Eaton under Heywood  • Edgmond  • Edgton  • Edstaston  • Ellesmere  • Ercall Magna  • Eyton Upon the Weald Moors  • Far Forest  • Farlow  • Fauls Holy Immanuel  • Fitz  • Ford  • Frodesley  • Glazeley and Deuxhill  • Great Bolas  • Great Hanwood  • Great Ness  • Great Wollaston  • Greete  • Grinshill  • Habberley  • Hadley  • Hadnall  • Halford  • Harley  • Haughton Demesne  • Heath  • Highley  • Hill End  • Hinstock  • Hodnet  • Holdgate  • Hope Bagot  • Hope Bowdler  • Hopesay  • Hopton Cangeford  • Hopton Castle  • Hopton Wafers  • Horderley Hall  • Hordley  • Hughley  • Hyssington  • Ightfield  • Ironbridge  • Jackfield  • Kemberton  • Kenley  • Ketley  • Kinlet  • Kinnerley  • Knockin  • Knowbury  • Kynnersley  • Lawley  • Leaton  • Lee Brockhurst  • Leebotwood  • Leighton  • Leintwardine with Adforton  • Lilleshall  • Lilleshall St George (Pains Lane)  • Linley  • Little Drayton  • Little Ness  • Little Wenlock  • Llanfair Waterdine  • Llansilin  • Llanyblodwel  • Llanymynech  • Longdon upon Tern  • Longford  • Longnor  • Loppington  • Loughton  • Ludford  • Ludlow  • Ludlow Castle  • Lydbury North  • Lydham  • Madeley  • Maesbrook  • Mainstone  • Malins Lee  • Market Drayton  • Melverley  • Meole Brace  • Middleton  • Middleton Scriven  • Milson  • Millbrook  • Minsterley  • Monkhopton  • Montford  • More  • Moreton Corbet  • Moreton Say  • Morville  • Much Wenlock  • Munslow  • Myddle  • Myndtown  • Nash  • Neen Savage  • Neen Sollars  • Neenton  • Newcastle  • Newport  • Newtown  • Norbury  • Norton in Hales  • Old Church Moor  • Oldbury  • Onibury  • Oswestry  • Oswestry Holy Trinity  • Pattingham  • Petton  • Pitchford  • Pontesbury  • Posenhall  • Prees  • Preston Gubbals  • Preston upon the Weald Moors  • Priors Lee  • Quatford  • Quatt  • Quatt Malvern  • Ratlinghope  • Rhydycroseau  • Richard's Castle  • Rodington  • Rowton  • Rushbury  • Ruyton of the Eleven Towns  • Ryton  • Sambrook  • Selattyn  • Shawbury  • Sheinton  • Shelve  • Sheriffhales  • Shifnal  • Shipton  • Shrawardine  • Shrewsbury Holy Cross with St Giles  • Shrewsbury Holy Trinity  • Shrewsbury St Alkmund  • Shrewsbury St Chad  • Shrewsbury St George  • Shrewsbury St Julian  • Shrewsbury St Mary  • Shrewsbury St Michael  • Sibdon Carwood  • Sidbury  • Silvington  • Skirmage  • Smethcott  • St Martin's  • Stanton Lacy  • Stanton Long  • Stanton upon Hine Heath  • Stapleton  • Stirchley  • Stockton  • Stoke St. Milborough  • Stoke upon Tern  • Stokesay  • Stottesdon  • Stowe  • Sutton  • Sutton Maddock  • Tasley  • Tibberton  • Tilstock  • Tong  • Trefonen  • Tugford  • Uffington  • Uppington  • Upton Cressett  • Upton Magna  • Waters Upton  • Wellington  • Welshampton  • Wem  • Wentnor  • Westbury  • West Felton  • Weston Lullingfield  • Weston Rhyn  • Weston under Redcastle  • Wheathill  • Whitchurch  • Whittington  • Whitton  • Whixall  • Willey  • Wistanstow  • Withington  • Wombridge  • Woodcote  • Woodhouse  • Woolstaston  • Woore  • Worfield  • Worthen  • Wrockwardine  • Wrockwardine Wood  • Wroxeter

Probate
Courts
Major
 Repositories
Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Coalbrookdale,_Shropshire_Genealogy&oldid=3738549"