Coamo, Puerto Rico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Puerto Rico Wiki Topics
Puerto Rico flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Puerto Rico Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Municipality of Coamo family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Municipality of Coama
Ask the
Community


History[edit | edit source]

There are numerous theories about the origin of the word "Coamo". Some people think it came from an indigenous word that means "valley" but it is also possible that Coamo derives its name from Coamex (or Coamey), who was a well-known local cacique (or "chieftain" in the Taino language).

Founded on July 15, 1579, Coamo is the third-oldest settlement of the island's post-Columbian period. Coamo officially became a town in 1616.

Hurricane Maria on September 20, 2017, triggered numerous landslides in Coamo with a significant amount of rainfall.

In the U.S. Census, the population was listed as 40,512. [1]


Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.

Online Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Coamo, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coamo,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/22/20.