Coates, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Coates, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Coates, Cambridgeshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish (England)
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Witchford
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Whittlesey
Registration District Whittlesey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: 1855
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

COATES, a chapelry in Whittlesey-St. Mary parish, Cambridge; adjacent to the Peterborough and Ely railway, 1½ mile NE of Eastrea railway station, and 3 E by N of Whittlesey. It was constituted in 1850; and it has a post office under Peterborough. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Coates parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Cam BTs = England, Cambridgeshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1599-1860 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cambridgeshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Coates Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
Cam BTs 1599-1860
1599-1860
1599-1860
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1539-1950
1540-1949
1540-1966
FMP 1538-1950
1538-1973
1538-1950
BOYD

1538-1850


ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1850-1876
1850-1875


FS Catalog PRs
1850-1876
1850-1876
1850-1876
FS Catalog BTs
1855-1858
1855-1858
1855-1858

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Copies of parish registers are also available through the Society of Genealogists and the Cambridge Archives. To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers forCoates, 1850-1876 at the FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Coates, 1855-1858 at the FHL

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Note that the film number is for Whittlesey as this parish was formed from this area.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Military[edit | edit source]

Courtesy of The Royal British Legion

Websites[edit | edit source]

Coates and Eastrea on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and WalesDate accessed and adapted: 01 July 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk