To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Coconino County, Arizona Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Coconino County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Coconino County, Arizona
Coconino County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Coconino County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 19, 1891
County Seat Flagstaff
Courthouse
ArizonaCoconinoCourthouse.jpg
Address 200 N. San Francisco St. (Courthouse)

Flagstaff AZ. 86001
(928) 679-7600


County Information[edit | edit source]

Coconino County, Arizona Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1892 1891 1892 1891 1892 1891 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in July 1909. General compliance by 1926

County Courthouse [edit | edit source]

Coconino County Courthouse
Flagstaff Justice Court
100 East Birch Avenue
Flagstaff, Az 86001-4696

Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce court and probate records from 1891
County Recorder had land records.

Coconino County lies north of Phoenix and the county seat is Flagstaff. The city is so named on account of a flagpole raising by the first settlers of the area. Today Flagstaff is the largest community in the county. [2]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named from Cohonino, a name applied to the Havasupai. The County has Flagstaff as its seat and the County was created February 18, 1891. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

19 February 1891 - Coconino County was created  from Yavapai County. [9] County seat: Flagstaff.[10] This county named for the Coconino Indians. Look for records in Coconino and Yavapai counties.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

See Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[11]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.




Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Riordan
  • Native American communities
    Census-designated places
    Ghost towns


    Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

    Resources[edit | edit source]

    Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

    Cemeteries of Coconino, Arizona online and in print
    Tombstone Transcriptions Online
    TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
    List of Cemeteries in the County
    See Arizona Cemeteries for more information

    The following web sites may have additional information on Coconino County cemeteries.

    Census[edit | edit source]

    For tips on accessing Coconino County, Arizona Genealogy census records online, see: Arizona Census.

    Church[edit | edit source]

    Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

    • Flagstaff
    • Fredonia
    • Tuba

    Court[edit | edit source]

    Land[edit | edit source]

    Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

    See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

    Local Histories[edit | edit source]

    Local histories are available for Coconino County, Arizona Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

    Maps[edit | edit source]

    Kane CountySan Juan CountyNavajo CountyGila CountyYavapai CountyMohave CountyAZ COCONINO.PNG
    Click a neighboring county
    for more resources


    Military[edit | edit source]

    World War II[edit | edit source]

    Newspapers[edit | edit source]

    Finding More Arizona Newspapers[edit source]

    Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coconino County, Arizona Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

    Obituaries[edit | edit source]

    Probate[edit | edit source]

    From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

    The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Subjects Search for Arizona, Coconino - Probate records.

    Online Probate Records

    Taxation[edit | edit source]

    Vital Records[edit | edit source]

    Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

    Birth Records[edit | edit source]

    Online Birth Indexes and Records

    Marriage Records[edit | edit source]

    Online Marriage Indexes and Records

    Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

    Death Records[edit | edit source]

    Online Death Indexes and Records

    Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

    Arizona Historical Society
    2340 N Ft. Valley Rd
    Flagstaff 86001-1200

    Sedona Genealogy Club
    P.O. Box 4258
    Sedona 86340

    Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

    Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

    Introduction to Family History Centers

    Flagstaff Arizona
    625 E Cherry Ave
    Flagstaff, Coconino, Arizona, United States
    Telephone: 928-774-2930

    Page Arizona
    313 S Lake Powell Blvd
    Page, Coconino, Arizona, United States
    Telephone: 928-645-2328

    Tuba City Arizona
    21 W Moenavi
    Tuba City, Coconino, Arizona, United States

    These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

    Websites[edit | edit source]

    References[edit | edit source]

    1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coconino County, Arizona. Page 56-57 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 52.
    2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coconino County, Arizona p. 56. ; .
    3. Wikipedia contributors, "Coconino, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coconino_County,_Arizona 7/10/2017.
    4. Williams 108-110
    5. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
    6. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
    7. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
    8. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
    9. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1891, 16th assy./ pp. 26-34
    10. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
    11. Wikipedia contributors, "Coconino County, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coconino_County,_Arizona, accessed 23 February 2019.