Coddington, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Coddington, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Coddington All Saints Nottinghamshire
|Type||Ecclesiastical Parish (England)|
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Newark|
|Parish registers: 1676|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CODDINGTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Newark, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 2¼ miles (E. by N.) from Newark. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Coddington All Saints was formed as an Ecclesiastical Parish in 1676 previously a chapelry of East Stoke, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Ancient Parish as recognised in the Chapel Lane location of the site.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have not yet researched the history of this church and parish Unresearched parishes
The church of All Saints was reconstructed in 1864 and has been designated as a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building
This parish should not be confused with Coddington, Herefordshire Genealogy All Saints.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Certificates can be obtained from:
The Register Office
Church records[edit | edit source]
Coddington, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Coddington, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Coddington
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Occupation[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..