Cook Islands Genealogy
Guide to Cook Islands ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Cook Islands Wiki Topics|
|Cook Islands Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
The Cook Islands are an island country in free association with New Zealand in the Pacific Ocean whose nearest neighbors are French Polynesia, Niue, American Samoa, and Samoa. They were formerly a British protectorate. The official languages are English and Cook Islands Māori.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Cook Islands Research
Links to articles on getting started with Cook Islands research.
Cook Islands Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Cook Islands research.
Cook Islands Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Cook Islands.
Islands[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Cook Islands. The individual islands which keep records are:
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
- 1846-1949 - Cook Islands, Public Records, 1846-1989 at FamilySearch — index and images
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Cook Islands," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cook_Islands, accessed 3 May 2016.