Copenhagen City, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Denmark Wiki Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Copenhagen City ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Ask the
Community


How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information[edit | edit source]

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below.

See the article Locating Family in the City.

History[edit | edit source]

Copenhagen has existed at least since the 11th century and was possibly founded by Svein Forkbeard. It replaced Roskilde as the capital of Denmark in 1443. Copenhagen has suffered several disasters throughout its history which affected the population. The following is a list of such disasters:

  • 1349: The Black Death
  • 1405-1406: Plague outbreak
  • 1428: Plague outbreak
  • 1446: Plague outbreak
  • 1460-1461: Plague outbreak
  • 1472: Plague outbreak
  • 1483: Plague outbreak
  • 1546-1548: Plague outbreak
  • 1553-1554: Plague outbreak
  • 1563-1568: Plague outbreak
  • 1575-1578: Plague outbreak
  • 1583-1585: Plague outbreak
  • 1592-1594: Plague outbreak
  • 1601-1603: Plague outbreak
  • 1618-1621: Plague outbreak. 7,000 persons dead
  • 1624-1626: Plague outbreak
  • 1628-1630: Plague outbreak. 5,000 persons dead
  • 1636-1638: Plague outbreak. 5,000 persons dead
  • 1652: Dysentery outbreak
  • 1653-1657: Plague outbreak. 8,500 persons dead out of a total of 30,000-35,000
  • 1710-1711: Plague outbreak. 22,000-23,000 persons died out of a total population of 30,000
  • 20-23 October 1728: Fire. 28% of the city was destroyed, and 20% of the people were left homeless. Records from the diocese of Zealand were destroyed among other irreplaceable works
  • 5-7 July 1795: Fire. 6,000 of 100,000 inhabitants were made homeless. The rest of the medieval part of the city was destroyed
  • 16 August-5 September 1807: British bombardment of Copenhagen. 1,000 buildings were destroyed, 195 civilians died, and 768 were injured
  • 11 June-October 1853: Cholera outbreak. 7,219 infections were reported of which 4,737 died

Archives, Societies, and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Sokkelund Herred

Parishes[edit | edit source]

For additional information, see the parish list and this list about parish information.

Burial Records[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Records Available at FamilySearch.org[edit | edit source]

Records Available Online[edit | edit source]

Civil Marriages[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Military[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Cemetaries - Funeral protocols[edit | edit source]

Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Copenhagen_City,_Denmark_Genealogy&oldid=4121966"