Copping Syke, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Copping Syke, Lincolnshirefamily history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Copping Syke, Lincolnshire|
|Type||Extra-parochial area (England)|
|Hundred||Horncastle Soke; Kirton|
|County||Lincolnshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Boston|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
Extra-Parochial Liberty History[edit | edit source]
COPPIN-SIKE, with Ferry-Corner, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Boston, wapentake of Kirton, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
The area was in the Sibsey sub-district of Boston registration district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Copping Syke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Copping Syke Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
This was an extra parochial place for which no church records are found.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Copping Syke
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 682-685. Date accessed: 14 August 2013.