Corton, Suffolk Genealogy
Guide to Corton, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Mutford and Lothingland|
|Poor Law Union||Mutford and Lothingland|
|Parish registers: 1579|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1698|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CORTON, a parish in Mutford district, Suffolk; on the coast, near the East Suffolk railway, 3 miles N by W of Lowestoft. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centres. Refer to Corton and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Corton, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Corton, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
This parish does not appear on Record Search at present. Refer to Suffolk Church Records
Parish registers for Corton, 1579-1930 The parish church of Corton is St. Bartholomew.
|Baptisms, 1579-1812. Marriages, 1580-1653, 1682-1754. Burials, 1579-1684, 1695-1812.||FHL BRITISH Film |
1471162 Items 19 - 20
|Baptisms, 1813-1861. Marriages, 1754-1836. Banns, 1754-1811, 1824-1930. Burials, 1813-1912||FHL BRITISH Film |
1471185 Items 1 - 8
Registration District[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- Mutford and Lothingland http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Mutford/Mutford.shtml
Probate Court[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911 Place Index', findmypast, accessed 30 December 2015.
- 'Suffolk "Early" Burial Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.