County Meath, Ireland Genealogy
| County Meath Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| County Meath Record Types | |
| Ireland Record Types | |
| Ireland Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to County Meath ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
County Meath is in the province of Leinster . It is the fourteen largest of the thirty-two counties in Ireland and the thirteenth in population. Its length is 41 miles from Bray to the southern corner near Ballingate House and its breath is 31 ½ miles from Mizen Head to the boundary near Dunlavin. It consists of 904.6 square miles (2,343.9 sq km).
Human habitation has been discovered in Co Meath which dates back 9,000 years. Meath was part of the Irish middle kingdom from the 2d century BC. It was chartered as a county in 1296. Historically this province of Meath included all of the current county as well as all of Westmeath and parts of Cavan, Longford, Louth, Offaly, Dublin and Kildare with the seat of the High King of Ireland being the Hill of Tara. The Normans invaded the area in the twelfth century and Trim was the site of the Norman parliament during the fifteenth century. In the 1641 rebellion, most of the Irish and Norman families had their lands given to the soldiers and officers of the Cromwell army.
In 1821, the County’s population was 159,183 and increased to 183,828 in 1841. During the Great Famine of 1845-1847, the population decreased until it was 140,748 in 1851. The population continued to decrease to 62,969 in 1926. The population has, however, increased to 162,831 in 2006. County Westmeath is predominately Roman Catholic. In 1891, the percentage of Roman Catholic, Church of Ireland, Presbyterian and Methodist was 93.1%, 6.3%, 0.5% and 0.1%. Overtime, the Roman Catholics percentage has decreased to 89.9% in 2006, while the Church of Ireland, Presbyterians and Methodists were 2.4%, 0.4% and 0.2%, respectively, with other or no religions increasing to about 5.9%.
General County Research Information[edit | edit source]
Further information about County Meath is available at the GenUKI site.
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1901 - Ireland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch — index
- 1911 - Ireland Census, 1911 at FamilySearch — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Indexes to Church of Ireland Marriage License Bonds for the Diocese of Meath.
- 1623-1866 - Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Marriage License Bonds Indexes, 1623-1866 at FamilySearch — index
- 1701-1845 - Ireland, Catholic Qualification & Convert Rolls, 1701-1845 at FamilySearch — index and images
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]
- List of County Meath Civil Parishes
- List of County Meath Catholic Parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 - Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1845-1958 - Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch — index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1880 - Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch — index, images available on FindMyPast
- 1884 - Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch — index and images
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1831 - 1856 - Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch — index and images
Maps[edit | edit source]
1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 - Ireland, Memorial Record: World War I, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1595-1858 - Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Wills & Administrations Indexes, 1595-1858 at FamilySearch — index
Websites[edit | edit source]
To view a list of Meath web sites, visit FHLFavorites.info for some great sites.
