County of Gwynedd, Wales Genealogy

Wales

County of Gwynedd

Guide to County of Gwynedd, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records. Gwynned was created from the historic county of Caernarfonshire. View the Caernarfonshire County page.

Gwynedd Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Guided Research Research Strategies Record Finder
Record Types
Cemeteries Census Church Directories Church Records Civil Registration Court Records Directories Emigration & Immigration Genealogy Gravestones Land & Property Merchant Marine	Military Records Newspapers Nobility Occupations Online Records Periodicals Poor Law Unions Probate Records Religious Records School Records Taxation Websites
Wales Background
Biography Church History Gazetteers Historical Geography History Jurisdictions	Languages Maps Names, Personal Place Names For Further Reading
Local Research Resources
Archives & Libraries of Gwynedd Archives and Libraries of Wales Societies of Gwynedd Societies of Wales Family History Centers

Wales Online Genealogy Records

Ask the Community

1974 - 1996 County of Gwynedd

Gwynedd 1974

The county of Gwynedd, in the north-west of Wales, was formed during the controversial re-organisation of local government in Wales in 1974. It consisted of the whole of the historic counties of Anglesey and Caernarfonshire; the majority of Merionethshire (with the exception of the Edeirnion Rural District which became part of the newly formed county of Clwyd); and the Conwy Valley parishes of Llanrwst, Llansanffraid Glan Conwy, Eglwysbach, Llanddoged, Llanrwst and Tir Ifan from Denbighshire. This new county was divided into five districts: Aberconwy Arfon Anglesey Dwyfor Meirionnydd The county town was Caernarfon. The county was named after the independent Kingdom of Gwynedd which covered the north-west of Wales from the end of the Roman period until the 13th Century.

Modern County of Gwynedd

Gwynedd 1996

Further re-organisation of local government in Wales abolished the county of Gwynedd, and its five districts, on 1 April 1996. The county of Gwynedd was split up into three new Unitary Authorities: Gwynedd (with very different boundaries to the previous county of the same name) Anglesey (with the same boundaries as the historic county of the same name) County Borough of Conwy (also taking in parts of the former county of Clwyd) Caernarfon remained the county town.

Parishes

• See a list of the parishes in Merionethshire with links to their pages.
• Interactive map of Merionethshire Parishes.

Online Records

• 1542-1911 - Wales Court and Miscellaneous Records, 1542-1911 at FamilySearch — images
• 1650-1900 - Wales, Marriage Bonds, 1650-1900 at FamilySearch — index
• 1678-2001 - Wales, Parish Registers, 1678-2001 at FamilySearch — index

See also

Communities in Gwynedd