County of South Glamorgan, Wales Genealogy

Wales Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Guided Research Research Strategies Record Finder
Record Types
Cemeteries Census Church Directories Church Records Civil Registration Court Records Directories Emigration & Immigration Genealogies Gravestones Land & Property Merchant Marine	Military Records Newspapers Nobility Occupations Online Records Periodicals Poor Law Unions Probate Records Religious Records School Records Taxation Websites
Wales Background
Biography Church History Gazetteers Historical Geography History Jurisdictions	Languages Maps Personal Names Place Names Social Life and Customs For Further Reading
Local Research Resources
Wales Archives & Libraries Societies Family History Centers

Wales

County of South Glamorgan

Guide to County of South Glamorgan, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Wales Online Genealogy Records Ask the
Community

1974 - 1996 South Glamorgan

South Glamorgan - 1974

South Glamorgan was a short-lived county in Wales, formed during the controversial re-organisation of local government in 1974, but abolished following further re-organisation in 1996. The county was formed under the Local Government Act 1972 out of the historic county of Glamorgan. Following further local government reorganisation, the county of Mid Glamorgan was abolished on April 1, 1996. The former county of South Glamorgan was divided into the county of the Vale of Glamorgan and the county and city of Cardiff.