To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Cranbrook, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cranbrook, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Cranbrook, Kent
Cranbrook St Dunstan Kent.jpg
Cranbrook St Dunstan Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cranbrooke
County Kent
Poor Law Union Cranbrook
Registration District Cranbrook
Records begin
Parish registers: 1553
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CRANBROOK (St. Dunstan), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Cranbrooke, Lower division of the lathe of Scray, W division of Kent, 7 miles E from Lamberhurst, and 48 SE by E from London.[1]

Cranbrook is a small town in the Tunbridge Wells district of Kent, see Cranbrook Wikipedia.

Cranbrook St Dunstan is an Ancient Parish within the Diocese of Canterbury Deanery website.

The church of St Dunstan, Jockey Lane, Cranbrook has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building and is part of a group of listed monuments.

The church of the Holy Trinity dates from 1837-1838 and is in The Street, Cranbrook and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building.

See Edward Hasted, "The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent:" Volume 7 (1798), pp. 90-113 at British History Online and Kent Churches website.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

This parish was within the Cranbrook registration district.

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Cranbrook parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[7]
Cranbrook Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1812
1559-1837
1559-1812
FREG
1538-1600, 1754-1919

FS PRs 1559-1881 1559-1732, 1837-1857; 1754-1896 (banns) 1559-1862
MIDK 1754-1911

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Nonconformist records

International Genealogical Index:

  • Chapel on the Hill Independent Christenings 1786-1836 Batch (C068111)
  • General Baptist 1682-1777 (Births) Batch (C091601)
  • Milkhouse Wesleyan Christenings 1805-1837 batch (C068121)

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Cranbrook 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 713-717. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.