Crayford, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Crayford, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Crayford St Paulinus Kent
|Poor Law Union||Dartford|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shorham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CRAYFORD (St. Paulinus), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Dartford, hundred of Lessness, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W division of Kent, 13 miles E by S from London.
Crayford is a town in the London Borough of Bexley Crayford Wikipedia.
Crayford St Paulinus is an Ancient Parish and included Slade Green and North End in the parish boundary. It neighboured Erith, Kent and Dartford, Kent Ancient Parishes as parishes on the south bank of the River Thames with neighbouring Essex Parishes of Wennington, Essex and Aveley, Essex on the north bank of the river.
The parish church of St Paulinus has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building.
The parish of Slade Green St Augustine was formed from this Ancient Parish in 1925 Slade Green St Augustine.
Other places of worship include:
Crayford Baptist Church, Bexley Lane
The Barnes Cray Baptist chapel. (1810)
North West Kent Muslim Association Mosque, Crayford High Street. The mosque serves both Bexley and Dartford Boroughs and was formerly Crayford Methodist Church whose registers dated from 1846.
St Mary of the Crays Catholic Church, Old Road. The original church was built in 1842, demolished 1974 following erection of new church.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Crayford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|Crayford Online Parish Records|
|BIVRI||1813-1858, 1884||1813-1818, 1820-1858|
Bexley Local Studies and Archive Centre is the Diocesan Record Office for all the Church of England Parishes within the London Borough of Bexley reference PA105 St Paulinus, Crayford 1558-1988
Family History Library film numbers:
Crayford Slade Green St Augustine's parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Crayford Slade Green St Augustine's Parish Online Records|
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
- Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
- Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Squires, R.D. From Norfolk to London. Family tree of Robert James Squires and Mary Ann Syzling, and descendants with surnames:
Tucker, Hill, Clark, De Vigie, Thompson, Read, Fitzwilliam Birch, Land, Brooks. Family move to Snetterton, Hockham, London - Southwark, and Crayford, Kent. Article dated 1851-1971, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol 5.pt.4, page 78-79. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol.5, pt. 4.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 717-720. Date accessed: 22 July 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
- 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.