Croft with Southworth, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Croft with Southworth, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Croft with Southworth, Lancashire|
|Poor Law Union||Warrington|
|Parish registers: 1833|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1833|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CROFT, with Southworth (Christ Church), a parish, in the union of Warrington, hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 5 miles(N. N. E.) from Warrington. There are places of worship for Unitarians and Methodists; and a Roman Catholic chapel. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Croft-with-Southworth Christ Church Parish has online content available as follows:
[FS = FamilySearch.org;LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project; AC = Ancestry.co.uk]
|CROFT WITH SOUTHWORTH Chapelry (1833) Indexes|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A,, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 725-729. Date accessed: 23 September 2013.