Culebra, Puerto Rico Genealogy
| Puerto Rico Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Puerto Rico Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to Municipality of Culebra family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents
History[edit | edit source]
Culebra is actually an island-municipality of Puerto Rico and geographically part of the Spanish Virgin Islands. It is located approximately 17 miles (27 km) east of the Puerto Rican mainland.
It is thought that the island of Culebra was first visited by Christopher Columbus as the first European.
The island was abandoned for Centuries and was a refuge for pirates. In 1881, Culebra was settled by the Spanish, who helped set up land lots and helped develop farming and cattle raising.
Culebra was declared an independent island municipality in 1917. The U.S. Navy briefly used the area to prepare soldiers for WWII.
According to the 2010 Census, the population of Culebra is 1,818. [1]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, Culebra, browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Catholic Church Records, Nuestra Señora del Carmen Parish, Culebra, Puerto Rico,1891-1976 browse images.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Culebra, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Culebra,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/23/20.
