Cullman County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cullman County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Cullman
Organized: January 24, 1877
Parent County(s): Blount, Morgan, Winston[1]
Neighboring Counties
Blount  • Lawrence  • Morgan  • Walker  • Winston  •
See County Maps
Courthouse
Cullman County, AL Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Cullman County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named in honor of Colonel John G. Cullmann.[2]The county is located in the north-central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Cullman County Courthouse
500 2nd Avenue SW, Rm 303
Cullman, AL 35055
Phone: 256-775-4654
Cullman County Website

Probate Judge has marriage, divorce, probate
and land records from 1877and old newpapers [4]

Cullman County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1877 1877 1887 1877 1877 1877 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1877--Cullman County was created 24 January 1877 from Blount, Morgan, and Winston Counties.
  • County seat: Cullman[6]

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Cullman County:[7]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Crane Hill
  • Damascus
  • Dripping Springs
  • Dyers Crossroads
  • Enon
  • Fairview West
  • Gold Ridge
  • Grandview
  • Guthery Crossroads
  • Johnsons Crossing
  • Jones Chapel
  • Logan
  • Longview
  • Loretto
  • Misty Harbor
  • Mount Zion
  • Nesmith
  • New Canaan
  • New Harmony
  • North Vinemont
  • North Walter
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Biographies of many notable residents of Cullman County were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library. Begins on page 798.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Cullman, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Cullman county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1880 6,355
1890 13,439 111.5%
1900 17,849 32.8%
1910 28,321 58.7%
1920 33,034 16.6%
1930 41,051 24.3%
1940 47,343 15.3%
1950 49,046 3.6%
1960 45,572 −7.1%
1970 52,445 15.1%
1980 61,642 17.5%
1990 67,613 9.7%
2000 77,483 14.6%
2010 80,406 3.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Cullman County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

LawrenceMorganMarshallBlountWalkerWinstonAL CULLMAN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Civil War Battle Fought in Cullman County

  • 1863 - April 30 Day's Gap, also known as Sand Mountain

Battle information from Civil War Battle Summaries by State, by the Heritage Preservation Services.

Map showing Civil War battles in Alabama.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • 1878 The Southern Immigrant at Ancestry $
  • 1930-1951 The Cullman Democrat at Ancestry $
  • 1937-38, 1942-43, 1947 The Cullman Banner at Ancestry $

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Cullman County Archives
County Courthouse
500 2 Ave SW
Cullman, AL 35055
Phone: 256-775-4671
website

Alabama Department of Archives and History, Cullman County
P.O. Box 300100
624 Washington Ave.
Montgomery, AL 36130
Phone: 334-242-4435
website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Cullman County. For state-wide library facilities, see Alabama Archives and Libraries.

Wallace State Community College Family & Regional History Library
801 Main St NW
Hanceville, Cullman, Alabama, United States
256-352-8265
Website

Wallace State's extensive and growing collection of research materials includes books, periodicals, microfilm, microfiche, CD-ROM disks, computer programs, family folders and more. Some sources cover the entire United States. The collection is centered on Alabama, neighboring states, the Old South, Kentucky, the Civil War and Cherokee Indians. The program has access to the 2.5 million microfilm reel collection of records from the Genealogical Society of Utah.


Cullman Cullman Public Library
200 Clark Street NE
Cullman, Alabama 35055
Phone: 256-734-2720
Cullman/ Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Cullman County Museum
211 2nd Avenue NE
Cullman, AL 35055
Phone: 256-739-1258
website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Cullman County Historical Society
Since 2018, the Cullman County Historical Society holds monthly meetings at the Cullman County Museum on the 4th Sunday. The society maintains a Facebook Page, but does not maintain an active website. The website link below is for the society's blog, that is no longer active. The society can be reached through their Facebook Page, or by contacting the Cullman County Museum. 3/25/2020

The society is a registered 501c3 organization.

Facebook
website

North Central Alabama Genealogical Society
This society is not active.

Publication: Alabama Family History and Genealogy News
Collection includes: Early Catholic records, including baptisms, marriages, deaths, and cemetery records for Cullman County and Warrior Church

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Cullman County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/cullman/ 06/02/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Cullman, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cullman_County,_Alabama 06/02/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Cullman County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cullman_County,_Alabama, accessed 9 October 2018.
  8. Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.