Danehill, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Danehill, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Danehill Horsted; Rushmonden|
|Poor Law Union||Cuckfield; Uckfield|
|Registration District||Cuckfield; Uckfield|
|Parish registers: 1851|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1851|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DANEHILL, a village, a chapelry, and a hundred in Sussex. The village stands 4½ miles S of East Grinstead r. station, and 6¼ NE of Cuckfield; and has a post office‡ under Uckfield, and a fair on 25th July. The chapelry is in Fletching and Horsted-Keynes parishes; and was constituted in 1851.
A history of the church can be found at Sussex parish Churches
The Parish Church of All Saints has been designated a grade II listed building listed building
Within the parish is the hamlet church at Chelwoood Gate and the Particular Baptist Chapel at Chelwood Common known as Danehill Chapel a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Part of this parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Part of this parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
The Register Office
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Danehill, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Danehill, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish registers Baptisms 1851-1993 Marriages 1851-1990 Burials 1853-1983 Banns 1851-1977 Bishop's Transcripts 1851-1894
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Danehill
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Partly in Cuckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex and partly in
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 20 September 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.