Darlaston, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Darlaston, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Walsall|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DARLASTON (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Walsall, S. division of the hundred of Offlowand of the county of Stafford, 1 mile (N. W. by W.) from Wednesbury. There are four places of worship for Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Darlaston St Lawrence parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|DARLASTON ST LAWRENCE PARISH (1539) Online Records|
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1539-1971 Mar 1539-1987 Bur 1539-1925
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1844 Mar 1660-1835 Bur 1660-1844 (missing Bap & Bur 1836-1842)
All Saints ecclesiastical parish was formed in October, 1872 from parts of Darlaston and Wednesbury civil parishes. The church in All Saints Road was consecrated in that year. On the 31st July 1942 it was completely destroyed when a bomb from a German air raid on nearby factories stuck the church building.. A new church was opened on the site in 1952.
|DARLASTON ALL SAINTS (1872) Online Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Slater St Primitive Methodist Chapel was known as Bell St Primitive Methodist Chapel until 1910 when the former building was demolished (1908) and a new chapel was rebuilt in Slater St. in 1910. Registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|SLATER ST (BELL ST) PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1844) Online Records|
United Free Methodist Church, Great Croft St. registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|UNITED FREE METHODIST CHURCH, GREAT CROFT ST (1851) Online Records|
Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Perry St. registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL, PERRY ST (1851) Online Records|
Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Pinfold St. registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL, PINFOLD ST (1832) Online Records|
Cemetery Records[edit | edit source]
James Bridge Cemetery was opened in 1860 by the then Darlaston Urban District Council in Bentley now part of Walsall however it was heavily used by Darlaston residents.
FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1860-1865
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1532/3 - A List of Families in Darlaston, Staffordshire Genealogy 1532/3 FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Reference[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 8-15. Date accessed: 18 October 2012.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 July 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
- Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
- Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8