Darlington, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Darlington, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Darlington, Durham
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Darlington
Registration District Darlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1590
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham County Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

DARLINGTON (St. Cuthbert), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the SE division of Darlington ward, S division of the county of Durham, 18½ miles S from Durham, and 236½ NNW from London; comprising the townships of Archdeacon-Newton, Blackwell, Cockerton, and Darlington. A church district named St. John's was endowed in 1845. A district church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was erected in 1838. There are places of worship for Primitive, Association, and Wesleyan Methodists; Particular Baptists; the Society of Friends; Independents; and Roman Catholics.[1]

Additional information: Darlington St Cuthbert is an ancient parish. The ancient parish of Darlington included Archdeacon Newton, Blackwell with Oxenhall or Oxen-le-Field, Cockerton, and Darlington. From within the ancient parish six additional parishes were formed in the town, at various periods since 1843, when Darlington Holy Trinity, Durhamwas formed, Darlington St John, Durham Genealogy to the formation of St. Hilda's in 1889.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Darlington Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Durham
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Durham
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Durham ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England Select Births, Marriages, Death, and Burials ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Darlington on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.