Daventry St James, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Daventry St James, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Daventry St James, Northamptonshire | |
|---|---|
| Type | England Jurisdictions |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Fawsley |
| County | Northamptonshire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Daventry |
| Registration District | Daventry |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: Not Known | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: None | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Daventry |
| Diocese | Peterborough |
| Province | Canterbury |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton |
| Location of Archive | |
| Northamptonshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Daventry (popularly Daintree), mun. bor., market town, and par., S. Northamptonshire, on an eminence between the Learn and the Nen and near the Grand Junction Canal, 13 miles NW. of Northampton and 70 NW. of London Daintree is an ancient town. It was incorporated by King John. In the old coaching days it was a great thoroughfare for the NW. of England. [1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Daventry St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| Daventry St James Online Parish Records | ||||||
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1538-1975 | 1538–1973 | 1538-1991 | |||
| FREG | 1538-1900s | 1538-1900s | 1538-1900s | |||
| ANC 1 | 1532-1812 | 1532-1812 | 1532-1812 | |||
| ANC 2 | 1813-1912 | 1754-1912 | 1813-1912 | |||
| FMP | 1538-1921 | 1525-2006 | ||||
| JOIN | 1538-1837 | |||||
| NBI | 1561-2001 | |||||
| IGI | ||||||
| FS Catalog PRs | ||||||
| FS Catalog BTs | ||||||
Non-Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1840-1894 England, Northamptonshire, Non-conformist Records, 1840-1894 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/320. Date Accessed 10 December 2013.
- ↑ ArcherSoftware.co.uk
