|Delaware Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Online Resources[edit | edit source]
- 19th Century Immigrant Roots, Records for Wilmington, Delaware and Vicinity Search engine, index, Record Inventory
History[edit | edit source]
Directories are alphabetical lists of names and addresses. City directories can help you learn where an ancestor lived. The person’s occupation is frequently given. Often the home address and business address are both mentioned. When a husband dies, many times the widow is listed as "widow of...."
Directories can help you determine which jurisdictional ward the family lived in if you are searching census records for a particular time period in a big city. Directories sometimes have maps and addresses of churches, cemeteries, courthouses, and other important locations.
Resources for Delaware Directories[edit | edit source]
Libraries and Archives[edit | edit source]
The most extensive collections of city and business directories are at the University of Delaware Library, Newark, Delaware 19717-5267. The Delaware Public Archives has directories from 1814 to the 1970s. The Historical Society of Delaware also has a large collection of directories for Wilmington, the state of Delaware, and the Delmarva Peninsula.
Directories Online[edit | edit source]
Ancestry.com ($) has Delaware directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.
The Family History Library[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has city directories for various years from throughout the state of Delaware including:
|1814, 1845, 1853, 1857
||FHL Collection 6044647-50|
|1859/1860||FHL Collection 6043859|
|1862-1901||FHL Collection 1377595-605|
|1971, 1986, etc.||FHL Collection 975.12 E4p|
To find directories, consult the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
- DELAWARE, [COUNTY] — DIRECTORIES
- DELAWARE, [COUNTY], [TOWN] — DIRECTORIES
Websites[edit | edit source]